No.19 Ball Against Rake in Bunker

Question 1: A player's ball lies in a bunker resting against a rake;
a) May the player remove the rake before making their stroke?
b) Must the player mark the position of their ball before moving the rake?
c) If the ball moves as the rake is being removed is there a penalty and if so, what is it?
d) If the ball moves as the rake is removed does it have to be replaced, or is it played from where it comes to rest?
e) May the player clean their ball before replacing it where it lay?
f) May the player push the ball into the bunker sand to ensure that it stays at the same spot it was at before the rake was removed?
a) Yes, the player may remove the rake.
b) No, though I recommend that they do so.
c) There is no penalty provided that the movement of the ball is directly attributable to the removal of the rake.
d) The ball must be replaced.
e) Yes, the ball may be cleaned.
f) No. If the ball will not come to rest on the spot where it originally lay, it must be placed at the nearest spot, not nearer the hole, where it can be placed at rest.
Rule 24-1a states;
"A player may take relief, without penalty, from a movable obstruction as follows;
If the ball does not lie in or on the obstruction, the obstruction may be removed. If the ball moves, it must be replaced, and there is no penalty, provided that the movement of the ball is directly attributable to the removal of the obstruction. Otherwise, Rule 18-2a applies."

Question 2: A ball lies on a rake in a bunker how should the player proceed?

Answer: When a ball lies on any obstruction in a bunker the ball may be lifted and the obstruction removed. The ball must then be dropped as near as possible to the spot directly under the place where the ball lay on the obstruction, but not nearer the hole - Rule 24-1b.

Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,

Good golfing,
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.