No. 39 Frost on the Putting Green
Question 1:
A player starts their round early in the morning and there is still a light coating of frost on the putting green. May the player brush aside the frost on their line of putt before putting?

Question 2:
If it had been early morning dew on the putting green instead of frost, may the player brush that aside?

Answers 1 & 2:

Note: Rule 16-1a prohibits touching the line of putt except in removal of loose impediments, repair of ball marks, etc.. Dew or frost is not a loose impediment and so brushing them away would be a breach of Rule 16-1a.


Question 3:
May a player remove loose bits of ice that have probably fallen from the shoes of players in a preceding group from their line of putt?

Answer 3:

Yes. Snow and natural ice, other than frost, are either casual water or loose impediments, at the option of the player.

Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
Good golfing,
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.