Casual Water in Bunker
In the photo part
of the player's stance in the bunker is in casual water, but
their ball does not lie in casual water.
a) May the player
choose to make their stroke anyway?
b) May the player
drop their ball in the bunker within one club-length of the
nearest point of relief from the casual water, without penalty?
c) If the player
chooses to take relief and when they drop their ball it embeds
into the soft sand may they re-drop it?
d) May the player
choose to drop the ball outside of the bunker under penalty of
a) Yes, it is not
mandatory to take relief from an abnormal ground condition.
b) Yes, this is
one of the options under Rule 25-1b (see below).
c) No, there is no
relief for a ball that is embedded in a bunker; the player must
play the ball as it lies following the drop.
d) Yes, this is an option afforded by Rule
25-1b(ii)(b), (see below).
Part of Rule 25-1b states;
may take relief from interference by an abnormal ground
condition as follows: ....
Note: If a player opts to drop
their ball in a part of the bunker that affords maximum
available relief from the casual water they may not then invoke
another option because they do not like the result. They must
play the ball as it lies or declare it unplayable and choose one
of the options under Rule 28, for a penalty of one stroke.
In a Bunker: If the ball is in a bunker, the player must
lift the ball and drop it either:
Without penalty, .... the nearest point of relief must be
in the bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker or,
if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to the
spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, on a part
of the course in the bunker that affords maximum available
relief from the condition; or
penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker, keeping the point
where the ball lay directly between the hole and the spot on
which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind
the bunker the ball may be dropped.
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,