No.46 Relief from Water Hazard (Again)

Let us see if readers remember where to drop their ball when taking relief from a water hazard, which was first covered in 'Rhodes Rules School No.38'.

The photo is an aerial view of the famous 17th, island green hole at TPC at Sawgrass. The white (A), yellow (B) and blue (C) lines represent the line of flight for three players' tee shots. The trajectories of the balls are high in the air, but straight between the teeing ground and the putting green. A's ball lands in the water short of the putting green, B's ball bounces past the hole and into the water and C's ball lands on the putting green and spins back into the water. None of the balls can be played from in the water.

Question 1:

Assuming that it is a water hazard defined on all sides by yellow stakes/lines, that there is no relevant Local Rule in operation, no dropping zone and that the player does not choose to play again from the teeing ground; Where must A, B & C drop their balls, under penalty of one stroke?

Answer 1:

In the photo below, each player must drop a ball behind the hazard anywhere on a continuation of the dotted line drawn from the flagstick through where their ball last crossed the margin of the hazard.

Remember that this is a 2-dimensional representation.
The trajectory of each ball is high in the air on a straight line.
Note: In the case of A this option would mean dropping on the 17th tee box, so in reality the player would probably choose to play again from the teeing ground.
Note: Rule 26-1b states that the player may under penalty of one stroke;
Drop a ball behind the water hazard,, keeping the point at which the original ball last crossed the margin of the water hazard directly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped, with no limit to how far behind the water hazard the ball may be dropped.
If you are not already familiar with them, I recommend that you view my two short videos on taking relief from water hazards. I have received many positive comments about them from golfers who say that previously they had never fully understood where to drop their ball when taking relief from a water hazard.

Click here and scroll down to view the videos.

Another 'Rhodes Rules School' Q&A will follow next week,
Good golfing,
The above content is strictly copyright to Barry Rhodes 2011/12 and may not be copied without permission.