In match play, Matt tees his ball in front of the tee markers and slices his
tee shot into trees on the right of the fairway.
a) Has Matt incurred a
b) May Matt opt to take
his tee shot again from within the teeing ground?
c) Must his opponent
require him to play again from within the teeing ground, without
d) May his opponent ignore
the fact that he played from outside the teeing ground?
a) No, because it is match
play, Matt has not incurred any penalty.
b) No, Matt does not have
any choice; it is his opponent who may require that he plays his stroke
c) No, Matt's opponent
may require that he plays again from within the teeing
d) Yes, Matt's opponent
may also ignore the fact that he played from outside the teeing ground
and let the stroke stand.
In match play if a player, when starting a
hole, plays a ball from outside the teeing ground, there is no penalty, but
the opponent may immediately require the player to cancel the stroke and
play a ball from within the teeing ground, Rule 11-4a.
In stroke play a competitor is penalised
two strokes for playing from outside the teeing ground and must then
play a ball from within the teeing ground. If the competitor makes a
stroke from the next teeing ground without first correcting his mistake
or, in the case of the last hole of the round, leaves the putting green
without first declaring his intention to correct his mistake, he is
disqualified, Rule 11-4b.
a) How far behind the tee
markers may a player tee their ball?
b) May a player stand
outside of the teeing ground to play a ball within it?
c) May a player repair any
irregularity in the teeing ground before making their stroke?
a) Up to two club-lengths
from the front of the teeing ground defined by the limits of the two
tee-markers, Definition of Teeing Ground.
b) Yes, Rule 11-1.
c) Yes, players are
permitted to create or eliminate irregularities of surface within the
teeing ground, Rule 13-2.
'Rhodes Rules School'
Q&A will follow next week,
The above content is strictly
copyright to Barry Rhodes ©2011/12 and may not be copied
have found these questions interesting then why not follow
my blog on the Rules of Golf at