taking relief under the Rules a player drops
their ball at the nearest point of relief in the
rough and it rolls onto the fairway, not nearer
Must the player play their ball from the fairway
or do they have to re-drop their ball?
How far may a ball roll from where it first
strikes a part of the course after being dropped
under the Rules?
If a ball is dropped in the rough and it rolls
into a hazard must it be re-dropped?
The player must play their ball from the
fairway. There is no distinction in the Rules
between fairway and rough; both are covered by
the term 'through the green'.
The ball may roll up to two club-lengths, not
nearer the hole. Rule 20-2c (iv).
Yes, the ball must be re-dropped. Rule 20-2c(i)
School' Q&A will follow next