Cherie arrives on the 1st tee 4 minutes after her
official start time in a medal competition. She
makes her apologies and while she is waiting for her
fellow competitor's to tee-off she realises that she
has left her putter at home, where she was
practicing her putting on the carpet. She sees a
friend, who has just completed her round, walking
towards the clubhouse and shouts to her, asking to
borrow her putter. Still flustered from her late
arrival she then makes a mess of her tee shot and
hooks it into a bunker on an adjacent hole. She sees
a ball that is almost buried in soft sand but cannot
positively identify it as hers. As she cannot see
any other ball in the bunker she assumes that it
must be hers, digs her feet into the sand to make a
stance and swings at the ball. Her contact is not
good and she immediately realises that she has hit
the ball twice in splashing it out of the bunker.
She remembers to rake the bunker where she has just
played from and, having checked that the ball is
indeed hers, she takes three more strokes to
complete the hole. What is Cherie's score for the
(The answer is below)
19th Hole Titbit - Do You Know?
That you may knock down leaves from a tree or
bush with a practice swing, providing you do not
actually improve the area of your intended
stroke swing. Decision 13-2/0.5.
1 & 2 - Two penalty strokes for arriving late but
within five minutes of the start time (Rule 6-3a,
amended January 2012).
Note: As Cherie's friend had completed her round
there is no penalty for borrowing a club from her,
providing Cherie's total number of clubs does not
then exceed 14 (Rule 4-4a).
3 - Hooked drive into the bunker of an adjacent
4 - Stroke from the bunker.
5 - One penalty stroke for striking the ball more
than once in the course of the stroke from the
bunker (Rule 14-4).
Note: A player does not have to positively identify
their ball before playing it, but they do incur a
penalty of two strokes if it is not.
6 to 8 - Three strokes to complete the hole.
Cherie scores 8 for the hole.